5 things I love about Shenmue I

Great post. I agree with what you say and the theory you mentioned is certainly interesting. As soon as we found out that Shenhua's parents had passed away, it crossed my mind that her and Ryo could be related. We don't know much about Ryo's mother either, do we? Apart from the fact that she died of a ''mysterious illness''...

If the Dreamcast hadn't ended so early, then maybe we have got the third game in let's say, 2002-03? Hopefully the others would have followed after that. So, by now we would have gotten the full story or close to the end, I'd like to have thought so anyway. Instead almost two decades have passed with barely any movement. That makes me sad. Luckily for me, I'm fairly new to the series so I haven't had to wait as long as others, but it still saddens me either way that it happened. Anyway, like you say, if we had gotten sequels much sooner then we may not have remembered the characters in this game as much - especially if they don't end up resurfacing in the sequels to come. ''Out of sight, out of mind'' would spring to mind regarding some of them in this hypothetical situation, but some are more memorable than others. With that being said, the phone call options in the third game were a nice touch. I couldn't help but feel a little sad during the Nozomi call though. Maybe it was the voice acting, or the dialogue/script? Not sure, I really need to revisit it again.
Thanks! Yeah, I'd love to know more about Ryo's mother, as well as Shenhua's biological parents.
I didn't know you were new to the series I missed that line, but lucky you!

Yeah and I definitely want more Nozomi calls in Shenmue IV + longer conversations with her.