Living in Japan; experiences

Favourite title
Shenmue
I lived in Japan for a while, so eager to share my experiences and hear others. Basically it stemmed from my first ever play through of Shenmue, and visiting Tokyo in 2012.

I worked as a developer there, and yes zangyou was a thing (unneeded). Lived in Tokyo (Nakano-ku) and very much enjoyed that part, the standard of apartments is very good.

Work culture leaves a lot to be desired, even at Gaishikei's, they can get away with a bad culture. I think developers get treated worse then English teachers. Pay was okay for a bad Japanese speaking foreigner with moderate experience in Tokyo, 6,000,000 JPY standard 12 month, not 14 month which they sometimes try to burn you with as a "bonus".

The commute was also not great, on a packed Oedo sen. The trains are great and clean however.

Learnt Japanese, at the Coto language school in Tokyo, and they are okay, had mixed opinions on them. It's important to find a class for your level.

Mixing with Japanese people I had a range of experiences, you really have to get their culture in my opinion, "sugoi gaikokujin, eeeeee". There are some Japanese people who love to mix with foreigners and these are cool.

I don't know if this sounds weird, but I went on a vacation to Hong Kong whilst living in Tokyo after a long stint in Japan only, and this might sound weird but Hong Kong felt more "free", then Japan. Which is weird considering who runs it now.

Some people say foreigners aren't there for the long haul, but I did meet some "expats", who were very high up in Japanese companies, mainly the one in Futako Tamagawa.