Shenmue III Petition from 2003, Retrospective

Favourite title
Shenmue II
Hey everyone. First thread on the forum in over a decade! Happy to be here. You're all wonderful and lovely people.

I wanted to highlight an effort made by myself and eventually the Dojo itself and wider gaming sphere from 2003. The Shenmue III petition. Shortly after the release of Shenmue II when the series' future was put in to doubt, I called to action around June of 2003 and created the Shenmue III petition:

https://web.archive.org/web/20120219053020/http://www.petitiononline.com:80/shen1986/petition.html

As you can see it eventually reached 65K signatures before Petition Online shut down. Very close to the number of eventual backers on Shenmue III's Kickstarter. The story behind it was that at the time I was a games journalist who absolutely adored the Shenmue series, and I wanted to do something significant to help Shenmue III eventually get made. Like many here. So I created the petition, then used my industry connections to get it promoted across gaming news outlets. 2 short weeks later and the petition had rocketed to almost 20K signatures. It spread like wildfire across the Internet, beyond my wildest dreams, clearly tapping in to withheld emotion everyone at the time had, that they desperately wanted Shenmue III to happen so unified and then voiced this desire and intent in the petition, ensuring its success.