Replaying Shenmue

Favourite title
Shenmue II
Currently playing
Shenmue
Hi all,

I've been visiting this forum for many years however this is my first post.

Despite never posting I'm so glad to be part of the shenmue community and cant thank everyone enough for keeping the game alive.

As shenmue 3 draws ever closer I'd like to replay the previous titles and was wondering how much time fellow shenmue fans are giving themselves to replay them.

This will be my 4th play through (twice on Dreamcast and once on the remastered version).

I've decided to give myself one month per title and have started casually playing through the first game this week. Will be amazing to know that when I complete the 2nd game it will only be a matter of weeks before I continue the story.

Welcome :) This is exactly what I am doing, it's been a long wait but finally this weekend I will begin my final playthrough of Shenmue I & II before the big day! I plan to fully indulge too, taking my time exploring everything I can - I especially hope to see the Fangmei's Birthday scene in Shenmue II I've heard about :)

I still can't quite bring myself to play Shenmue II on PS4 - due to the horrid 4:3 & Letterboxed cutscenes, but will be sticking with my Xbox version on 360 which was a great experience last time.

A pleasure to have you posting, DJMH!

I recently bought a PS4 and the re-releases, and intentionally waited with the timing. My thinking was that six weeks with the games would be a pleasant distraction. I haven't had my Dreamcast hooked up in years, so I've mostly been playing S2 on the Xbox.

I'll likely give 1 a deep play or two, and then try to play 2 in early/mid November.
Then, I'll cradle myself and rock back and forth uncontrollably until the 19th.