Shenmue confessionals

RyoHazuki84

俺が益荒男
Favourite title
Shenmue
This is a thread to make some confessions in relation to Shenmue

I have never once played Shenmue II on XBox. I never personally owned an XBox or its successors though my brother does have one and Shenmue II on XBox.

I have never played a fresh game of Shenmue II. I always binge play from Shenmue 1 and then use that save to carry over to Shenmue II.

Due to this, about 90% of my exposure to Shenmue has been in Japanese. I studied Japanese for six years (3 years in high school and 3 years in university), and Shenmue has always been a driving motivator for me. Now I have been living in Japan for almost 10 years.

I once visited a harbor when I first moved to Japan (I was living in a small city known as Sakaide in Kagawa, Japan’s smallest prefecture at the time), and asked some fisherman where I can find some sailors and they all told me they didn’t know.

I didn’t get around to visiting Yokosuka until i moved to Yokohama 3 years ago (I have also spent time in Ehime, Hiroshima, Niigata, Saitama, Tochigi and Ibaraki). But I have visited most areas portrayed in Yakuza 5 except for Hokkaido.

I have visited a seiyuu cafe in Akihabara owned by Masaya Matsukaze, the Japanese voice of Ryo, but he wasn’t there.

I once used a double palm strike in a fight in high school LOL. Hit the solar plexus with the right force and timing and it does work. But I already had a black belt in Tae Kwon Do at that point. The opening was just there and I took it.

I needed 10 years to find out that you can actually block your opponent's attacks by pressing Y while Ryo is immobile. Then my vision of the Shenmue combat system completely changed lol.

When I was bored by my Judo sessions, I decided to skip them and play Shenmue II instead. To offset my lack of training and my feel of doing something bad, I doubly listened to my NPC masters (i.e. Xiuying) to learn from their advice and took my sparring with Jianmin very seriously.